pharmacypopla.blogg.se

Rickenbacker 325 black
Rickenbacker 325 black






I worked only weekend and this project took 8 months. 3-position switch (neck/neck+bridge/bridge) It was slightly too transparent so I painted the back side white. I made the pickguards from white cast acrylic. Not perfect mirror-finish but I think this is good enough. At last, 1000 grid wet sanding and then hand-polishing with fine & extra-fine polishing compound. In total I applied Tru-oil 20 times, wet sanding with #600 and #1000 every 2-3 coats. Tru-oil and wet sanding on bubinga fingerboard Once the oil runs, it will be a lot of work to make the surface clean without sanding-through. Things have been kind of slow around here, and they’re getting slower. From the second coat, I applied Tru-oil very thin at a time. Rickenbacker 325 Bass 1 (3/5) Aug 30, 2018. After 10 minutes or so, I wiped off excess oil and dried for more than 24 hours. I applied Tru-oil in the same manner as I did to finish my semi hollow Telecaster.įirst I thoroughly applied Tru-oil with a small rag to let it soak into the wood. I made 22" scale by cutting Gibson (24-3/4") scale fingerboard at 2nd fret.Ĭutting fingerboard outline with a template on back I used a typical double action truss rod. Neck blank, quarter sawn maple & walnut 3-ply for headstock, truss rod cover and pickguards body outline and control/pickup cutouts I had no idea about the original 325 neck joint so I checked some photos from Rickenbacker website & my 350V63 to determine the dimensions. Pickups : Ric style single coil, ceramic magnet, non-brandĪnd here's my plan. Ric website says 'rosewood' but I presume it's bubinga from the color. I measured my 350V63.įingerboard : Bubinga, 21 frets, R12" (305mm) I used walnut simply because I could get it easily. Along with producing the old version 325 in natural and black finish, Rickenbacker also introduced the 360 12/V64, the 4001 V63, and the 325 V63. So spec-wise, my version is somewhere between John's guitar, 325C64 & 350V63.īody : Semi-hollow, maple top & back, 2" (50mm) thick Also I personally like 3-ply neck and double pickguard that are very Rickenbacker to me. I think John's 325 is 20-3/4" scale but it's too short for me. Some luthiers already built 325 style guitars and they all look awesome ! Basically I did the same but mine is left-handed with some different specs. However, from builder's perspective, the construction is unique and very interesting. To be honest I'm not a big fan of Ric's thickly-painted fingerboard, bridge that falls every time I change strings and confusing control system. One of the most special electrics for me is (like many other people) John Lennon's Rickenbacker 325 in 1958.








Rickenbacker 325 black